TenFourFox Downloads hosted on SourceForge--Adware?

mozzz's Avatar


06 Nov, 2014 01:55 PM

Just came across the fact that SourceForge has started (as of 7/2013) bundling downloads with adware. If this hasn't stopped, is there a risk of an adware infection when downloading TFF?


  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Cameron Kaiser on 06 Nov, 2014 03:00 PM

    Cameron Kaiser's Avatar

    DevShare is opt-in, and we didn't. I don't believe that sort of thing is ethical to do to users without the users themselves granting permission.

    Even if SourceForge did this without our knowledge or permission, the RIPEMD160 hashes are generated before the files are uploaded, so you can verify the integrity of the download independently: https://code.google.com/p/tenfourfox/wiki/Hashes

  2. 2 Posted by mozzz on 06 Nov, 2014 03:38 PM

    mozzz's Avatar

    Adware has really become a raging epidemic for Macs, even at what were formerly quite reputable sites. You really have to watch your step these days.

    Good to know this about TFF and what I would have expected.


Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:


Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts


? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac