Request to restore large toolbar icon size ability of TenFourFox 38

Dasa DeMeo

10 Nov, 2018 05:38 PM

I suppose this is a rather unusual issue that likely only affects a small number of users, and I hope you will not consider it an imposition.

Due to a vision impairment condition, the regular monochrome, low-contrast Firefox/TenFourFox browser interface is basically unusable for me. For this reason I've been employing a FireFox add-on for many years, called "Firefox 2, the theme, reloaded" (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/firefox-2-theme-for-firefox-3x/). As the name implies, it restores the Firefox 2 interface look with its lighter background and high-contrast, colorful toolbar icons, which dramatically improves interface visibility. To work properly with more recent versions of Firefox/TenFourFox, this add-on has to be paired with another called "Complete Theme Helper" (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/complete-theme-helper/), which among other things also restores the option to switch between large and small toolbar icon sizes (via the "extensions.cthelper.iconsize" preference in about:config). For even more improved visibility, I'm naturally always opting for the "large" icon size.

This ability, to display large toolbar icons, has always worked perfectly in ALL versions of Firefox (and TenFourFox up to version 38.10) – except in Firefox ESR 45. I've tested this on my husbands MacBook Pro, the fault indeed somehow lies with this particular ESR release. In all subsequent Firefox versions up to at least Firefox ESR 52, this issue must have been fixed, because the interface is once again able to display the large toolbar icon size when the 2 add-ons as described above are installed.