Firefox 7450 stalls and won't open

Samantha

05 Oct, 2012 01:05 PM

Hi. I'm new to message board discussion. Not sure if this is where I should be to post my problem/question?

I'm using 104Fx 7450 for Mac OSX 10.4.11, 1.5 GHz PPC G4 (don't laugh). I installed 104Fx about a month ago, no problems then. I also use Safari, for video and other media. Sometimes they're open simultaneously and i'll jump back and forth between the two.

Lately, especially on FB, 104Fx has been hanging up due to scripts running. Last night I shut everything down, it took a bit long for 104Fx to shut down, in fact I had to force-quit. This morning, it won't load. OR it's taking much to long to load. I didn't wait more than 3 minutes.
Anything I can do? Am I in the right place to get answers? Suggestions? Aside from get a new computer :-) Thanks.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Cameron Kaiser on 05 Oct, 2012 03:21 PM

Yes, you are in the right place. I'm using TenFourFox on a 1.33GHz iBook to type this message to you. I'm not seeing those slowdowns, but I despise Facebook and do not use it personally. Perhaps Chris has some insight there.

In general, progressive slowing down of the browser indicates something in your profile that is stuck or accumulating garbage. The first step is to reset that. Look at the article "How to reset your profile" in the lower right. Follow the directions carefully so that you don't lose your bookmarks. Does resetting your profile get you some improvement?

2. Support Staff 2 Posted by Chris (chtrusch... on 05 Oct, 2012 04:06 PM

Samantha, I use FB with TenFourFox on all my Macs, ranging from 400 MHz G3 to 1.3 GHz G4. It works pretty well if you aren't in a rush, but I disabled the warning for unresponsive scripts (see here: https://tenfourfox.tenderapp.com/discussions/problems/211-unrespons...). I don't remember ever experiencing a hang on FB which would necessitate a force quit.